PDA

View Full Version : Questions about oiling

soonerpgh
September 23rd, 2010, 07:53 PM
I'm a newby with 3a/3b, m, iii type hair. It's between my bra strap and waist. I've never done oiling and I was wondering exactly what that means/involves.

Are there certain types of oil that are best for different hair types? Also, where do you buy it and what's the usual routine involved? Do you put a lot of oil in and wait a couple of hours and then wash it out? Do you still use conditioner?

Sorry for all the questions. I'm just learning. :p Thank you!

unicornologist
September 23rd, 2010, 09:37 PM
I'm wondering this too...

adiapalic
September 23rd, 2010, 11:14 PM
Oil is used to help mimic your body's natural hair lubricant--sebum. Sebum is the "grease" that is produced by sebaceous glands at the base of hair follicles, and are there to lubricate and protect hair and skin. You can aid this by using a Boar Bristle Brush to brush and distribute some of the sebum down the length of your hair, this will also help make those greasies that might get on your scalp less noticeable by evening out the oil and separating the hair strands more.

The main thing to keep in mind with oiling is that it provides a protective coat for the hairs. For example, putting a few drops of jojoba oil (the oil most similar to sebum) on your hands and smoothing it down the ends of your hair will help coat and protect them when you comb the ends. The ends will have more slip and wont snag as easily.

I personally never apply oil to my scalp because I already produce a lot there on my own. (Well, unless I do the rare scalp massage with the oil before I wash my hair.)