PDA

View Full Version : Dandruff - symptom of stress???

julliams
September 18th, 2010, 08:23 AM
It was about this time last year that I joined LHC which was out of desperation at having a very itchy and flaky scalp. After trying various remedies and using olive oil on my scalp I found that it cleared up. Changing my shampoos and conditioners to less SLS and silicones seemed to help too. I was boasting a completely dandruff and itch-free scalp for ages.

Well, here we are in September again and I'm finding that my dandruff has returned. My routines have changed a little in that I have brought silicones back in (but that has been going on since April this year).

So, I'm wondering if it is in fact actually more of a stress issue. I have two children in primary school (year 6 and 3) as well as being a flute tutor myself in primary schools. This term is notorious for being a "non-stop term" where there is so much packed in sometimes you don't know which end is up.

Anyone else pondered this? I'd be interested to hear from those who find that stress is the cause for their dandruff and what might be done to combat it.

torrilin
September 18th, 2010, 08:37 AM
Dunno about dandruff, but for my partner's psoriasis, stress is a serious problem. You can actually track how difficult work is for him by how many patches he has and how much they're growing. Getting adequate light therapy helps, but it's just as important to make sure he gets time to play basketball and ride his bike and veg out trying to read every book in the world.

He's not unusual. A lot of chronic medical conditions are aggravated by stress. It's common for diabetics and asthmatics too.

We've put in a lot of time and effort to get my partner's disease under control. A lot of the time, the way we've made progress is by me asking him "well, do you LIKE doing that?" If the answer is no, we work together to figure out a solution.

tanya222
September 18th, 2010, 10:02 AM