PDA

View Full Version : Question For Cone Users

Dragon
September 16th, 2010, 03:03 PM
Why do you use cones?
How does your hair feel if you dont use them?
Do you find you get less split ends when using them?

veggielocks
September 16th, 2010, 03:08 PM
What are "cones" used for? I've never heard of something like that for hair.

Henrietta
September 16th, 2010, 03:09 PM
What are "cones" used for? I've never heard of something like that for hair.

Silicones. It's late at night and I am not good at chemical English language... There is an article somewhere...

First of all: http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/vbjournal.php?do=article&articleid=13
And also:
http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/vbjournal.php?do=article&articleid=151

As a former cones addict I can tell you that I used them because I had no idea they exist and they are bad. I dropped them as far as I could, though it took me few weeks to decide and I was afraid about how my hair would behave without them.

Without them my hair feels... normal. Since I CWC and always leave a conditioner for 30+ minutes it's even better than it was when I used cones. It is finally healthy. Before it just looked healthy.

I didn't get more split ends when I used them than I get now. But when I went back to cones once, to use up a serum it was a disaster- I had totally dry-looking and dry-feeling hair.

SpinDance
September 16th, 2010, 03:16 PM
"Cones" stand for silicone varieties of which are in many hair products for slip and shine. As with everything, some peoples hair loves them and needs them, others do not. There is a lot of information about them and the various alternatives here (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/vbjournal.php?do=article&articleid=151).

veggielocks
September 16th, 2010, 03:17 PM
Ah ha...dimethicone and the like. I read something about that sometime ago on here. Excuse the lack of knowledge of hair lingo here on the forums. :)

Henrietta
September 16th, 2010, 03:19 PM