PDA

View Full Version : Tell me not to chop it..

yosenshi
September 8th, 2010, 11:26 PM
Hey all, this is my first post, but I've been lurking for a few weeks now...

I have thin, fine hair. I've been growing out some pretty crazy damage for two years now. My hair is currently about four inches away from my goal -waist length. However, the bottom three inches of my ends are so terribly dry and unmanageable. They look terrible. When I trim the spilts, they just split again within a week (my scissors could not be sharper). More than anything, they're 'sticky' and get tangled easily. They are crunchy and vile. (I want to note that I know that these horrible ends DO still have some cuticle, and the core is not totally exposed).

The rest of my hair is quite nice, soft and very shiny. I only wash in a cone-free conditioner, and I only put oil in my hair (EVOO, EVCO, and sometimes castor oil). I comb it with a good comb, use a boar bristle brush, etc etc.

I want so badly to save those last three inches. I only get about four inches a year, and if I cut off the horrible stuff, plus a safety 1/2 inch (if I'm chopping it, why not ere on the safe side?)... well, that means I'll have seven inches to go to my goal, which is roughly two years worth of growth...

I don't know what to do. My boyfriend loves that I'm growing it out, and wants it long, and is basically blind to the dead stuff, and even he told me to just cut the ends because of how stressed I am about it...

I feel like I've tried everything to save them, but no matter how hard I work, they show little or no improvement. But... If I cut.. I will be so sad to lose the length.

Please help....

evampr18
September 8th, 2010, 11:29 PM
I would love to see a picture, if possible. Then I can really give my full opinion. :)

Kathie
September 8th, 2010, 11:34 PM
I agree a pic would be good

Have you tried clarifying? Funky ends can be caused by buildup. Clarifying could let your hidden healthier hair free :D

TinaDenali