PDA

View Full Version : Styling/coping with the awkward stage...

minerva_deluthe
September 6th, 2010, 03:40 PM
Hi,

I did search this but only found one real thread and it was ideas for a guy, so hoping for some more info, including female-oriented ideas for coping with the growing out stages. (We seem to have more permission than men for creativity).

My hair is chin length right now, but it will be growing out for awhile obviously, so I am interested in any and all ideas for coping with it as it grows! Did you get regular trims/styling, or did you opt for length even if it had a somewhat awkward shape? How did you deal with it daily and keep it looking okay as it grew? Are there any particular hair toys that help or are good for medium length hair?

Any and all experiences and ideas appreciated. I've had short hair for a long time so I am a real hairstyling newbie.

tinti
September 6th, 2010, 03:45 PM
I had a style like that for ages when I was a teenager, and I used to make a half up with a claw clip to hide my hair a bit. Or I made a tiny little peacock twist when my hair was long enough for that.
ETA: Oh, and I just grew it out untill it was at collar bone lenght, then I cut a bit so that it would look like a normal bob.

minerva_deluthe
September 6th, 2010, 03:54 PM
Thanks! It sounds a good plan to grow it out a bit. So discouraging to lose any length when you have as little as I do right now.

What is a peacock twist? I know nothing about hairstyling! My daughter has long hair but she refuses to have anything at all done with it, ever. So I know henna and brushing and that is IT.

FrannyG
September 6th, 2010, 03:57 PM
When I grew out from a pixie or another time from a cap cut, I used to put the sides up with barrettes, claw clips or combs.

I think that by the time my shortest hair (the hair above the ears) hit chin length, I had it trimmed into a basic bob. Of course after the pixie, my hair was still layered, but I just grew it out from there.