PDA

View Full Version : How do I keep my hair healthy

ldc441
August 31st, 2010, 06:53 PM
When I have been growing it out for 3 years now I am at APL then I cut it to my collar bone because it was coverd with dead ends now I want to know how to prevent them from not Being as bad as they were before so I need help

Coriander
August 31st, 2010, 06:59 PM
There are so many threads about split ends, how to perform a "search and destroy (S&D)", what types of serums/conditioners/oils might be beneficial, that it would be difficult to tell what might work best for you.

Under the "Search" button at the top of the page, there is an option for searching thread titles. I received a lot of results by typing in "Split ends" into the field.

Several people may suggest letting them go. Others might S&D. Others yet might have trims. Others may use oils or conditioner-only washing in order to keep their ends softer. Some people use aloe gel.

I wish you the best in finding what works for you. It took me awhile to figure that I need to S&D at least once a month, and wear my hair up as much as possible.

little_cherry
August 31st, 2010, 07:03 PM
There are many things you can do such as wearing your hair up in protective hair styles, oiling, deep treatments.

What is your routine now?

ldc441
August 31st, 2010, 07:34 PM
My new routine is shampoo everyday and condition every other day

torrilin
August 31st, 2010, 09:24 PM
Any heat used?

And why did you decide on washing daily, but conditioning every other day? That's pretty much the opposite of what I've done most of the time, so it sounds pretty strange to me.

JenniferNoel
August 31st, 2010, 09:59 PM
Your routine may be a bit on the drying side. I wash every several days and condition every time, with deep oil treatments in between. I usually keep my hair oiled and in a bun/twist, and have no trouble with split ends. There are some people that can't condition/oil as often because their hair gets unacceptably greasy.