PDA

View Full Version : CO-washers, how often do you clarify?

Luna12345
August 24th, 2010, 08:41 PM
Hi, I started co-washing a few days ago so I'm still new to the whole thing. Those of you who do not use any cones, how often do you usually clarify you hair?

Carolyn
August 24th, 2010, 08:48 PM
Clarifying should be done on an as needed basis. When your hair gets to feeling gunky and coated, it's time to clarify. That might be 2 weeks or 2 months of more. It's going to depend on such factors as your hair, what products you use and how often you CO wash.

christine1989
August 28th, 2010, 02:52 AM
I try really hard not to because it leaves my hair so dry and frizzy. I usually do it twice a week since I use quite a bit of oil on my hair (once on a good week). I agree with Carolyn though, do it when you need it and don't let yourself get too much buildup or it will take a ton of shampoo to get the job done (been there, done that :))

Heidi_234
August 28th, 2010, 03:22 AM
Also a symptom - if your hair starts to feel damaged. Don't run to the scissors, try to clarify first. Happy COing! :)

Kristin
August 28th, 2010, 09:15 AM
I use shampoo once a week and CO probably 4-5 times. I guess I am "clarifying" when I do that, but I mostly do it because I love my ALS-containing shampoo and only allow myself to use it once a week so I don't dry my hair out. Good luck!

Deborah
August 28th, 2010, 09:20 AM
I never clarify. I don't use cones or sls or any type of styling products, so I don't seem to have anything to remove. My hair is always soft and shiny.

Arianwen
August 28th, 2010, 09:22 AM
When you clarify, what do you use to clarify with?

trillcat
August 28th, 2010, 09:42 AM
I use VO5 Tea Therapy, it's cheap and it does the job, and smells really nice. I use their condish to CO, also smells just wonderful. I clarify oh, every two weeks or so? It depends on how my hair is behaving.