PDA

View Full Version : fully rolled sock bun. first try PIC and questions

squiggyflop
August 24th, 2010, 07:29 AM
well this is my very first try.. i had a hard time so im not going to redo it today..
http://i245.photobucket.com/albums/gg69/squiggyflop/firstfullyrolledsockbunAug24th2010watermark.jpg
sorry the pic is blurry.. i take all my pics with my cell phone and the lens area is very dirty..

my question is what kind of pins do you use to secure it and how do you fasten the pins in place without distorting the bun?

mine wont stay by itself.. it will unroll the last 5 inches or so.. i tried pinning it but the bun got all wonky (as you can see in the pic) from the pinning.. i used good-days pins.. is that where i went wrong? where doo you place the pins? how many do you use?

*sigh* ive decided to walk around today with this wonky bun.. maybe people will think its messy on purpose.. i hope so because im going out today with a friend to the movies for 5$ tuesday..

also why do i have a highlight on the underside of my hair??

Harriet
August 24th, 2010, 08:13 AM
I'm experiencing the same problem!
As for the random highlight, I have a similar thing too only mines more of a blonde streak at the nape, most odd!

Danaus plexippu
August 24th, 2010, 08:47 AM
I always secure in a pony tail and then roll the sock in. I also spray the ends lightly with a texturizing spray, it seems to help them stay tucked into the sock better. I roll it up while tucking and tucking into the sock. It stays all day, no pins. When I take it out, I have loose, high-volume waves for the next day. I think my tip/trick is the texturizer (Redken fabricate) and really tucking those ends in while I roll.

BTW: I like the highlights!

ETA:
Just thought...my hair isn't nearly as long as yours. I'm just between APL and BSL, so maybe the extra length is the issue...

LouLaLa
August 24th, 2010, 10:32 AM
http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=52893