PDA

View Full Version : 6 month LHC-versary!

may1em
May 19th, 2008, 09:11 PM
I've been hanging out here (well, registered) for roughly six months now, but I've been looking even longer and before that was over at the LJ community about a year ago. So, progress with pics!

I started growing my hair out from a chin-in-front/ear-in-back length wedge cut in April 2005. I didn't know it then, but that was the last trip to the salon in my college town I made before graduating. I'd pretty much kept it about that length or a little longer for years at that point. Well, being unemployed for a few months plus just not getting around to it led to it growing. I decided I liked it longer and got this cut in April 2006 (yup, a whole year of benign neglect!)

http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd62/may1em/hairvenicebeachmay2006.jpg

About eight months and more benign neglect later I found longhairs on the Internet who made me think I could do this for real. But I needed a trim, so I got a curly girl cut in April 2007 (annual trim time!):

http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd62/may1em/afterapril2007trim.jpg

It's never been that curly since. I wish I could sit under a heatlamp like that all the time to dry.

Then last November I joined LHC and took this picture, which I was too shy to show off then:

http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd62/may1em/hair11307.jpg

This is my avatar, which I took in February:

http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd62/may1em/hair06feb08.jpg

And this is today! I washed it Saturday so it's lost quite a bit of waviness. But look how long it is! And, I've done both a self-trim and gotten a small trim at a salon since the February pic.

http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd62/may1em/hair19may08.jpg

My end goal is a soft U shape with the shorter bits at my elbows and the longest part at iliac. That's about a year away, judging by past growth patterns. :)

Thanks for putting up with the pictures. Hardly anybody in real life gets this excited over hair.