PDA

View Full Version : Trim at Home

shawty
August 8th, 2010, 08:06 PM
Today my mother asked me to trim her hair, and I was ecstatic that she came to me instead of visiting the hairdressor.

Some background: My mom is aged 59, with shoulder-length hair that was once 3a F/M and is now 1c/2a F. She has been coloring it brown for years. I think the reason she wanted to hide her gray is because my brother and I are so young... she is older than the parents of most of my peers.
I have been cutting my own hair for about 6 years (which doesn't say much though, since my cuts are usually few, unplanned, and drastic) and I trimmed the APL hair of my second-to-last BF several times during our 1.5 yr relationship, so I have a little bit of experience, though I am untrained. To my credit, the last time I had my hair cut by someone trained (almost 2 years ago), I told him I'd been cutting my own for a while and he looked it over and said something like, "You did a very good job. The ends aren't too split, and it's even!" :D

The trim: I asked my mother whether she wanted blunt or layered, and she said "What do I have now? Do that." She's so cute! I trimmed very carefully / conservatively, focusing on removing split ends whithout depleting length. I gave her slight layers, mostly in the front, as that is what she had before. I got to see 1/2 inch of roots while doing this, and I reckon her hair is 80% or 90% gray now. I encouraged her to grow it long and stop dying it, both of which she politely declined. Oh well. It's her choice after all! :) When I finished, she looked at it and was surprised by how little I had removed. My mom is pleased with her trim and it was super fun and saved us some dollahs!

Happy growing and at-home trimming (if you do) to everyone! <3

BTW This is my first time posting a thread so I hope it's in the right spot, and good, and everything... :o

christine1989
August 8th, 2010, 08:12 PM