PDA

View Full Version : Can someone explain 5 strand braiding to me as though im a 2 year old?

Lassie
August 8th, 2010, 04:43 AM
or point me in the direction of a really simple instruction??

Apparently if i want to do it like a french/dutch on my self, im best of starting like i would start a french, with three braids, then add 2, then carry on??

katha
August 8th, 2010, 05:18 AM
Have you tried doing without "frenching" it first?
I'm not good at 5strand braiding. I find it easiert if I put all my hair in a ponytail and then seperate in 5 strands and braid. I tried doing it without the ponytail and got all confused. :D

Doing a french or dutch 5stranded braid would be impossible for me at this point, I think.

FrannyG
August 8th, 2010, 05:33 AM
First of all, I wouldn't start learning a 5 strand braid in a French Braid. It's best to get the fingering down for a single braid first, and then move into doing a French 5 strand.

I originally learned to do it in a half-up braid. Then I moved on to a full single 5 strand braid, then a French half-up and finally a full French 5 strand.

I'll tell you right now that it took me a week of daily practice before I had a 5 strand braid that was photographable. Here is how I learned:

Divide your hair as if you are going to make a half-up braid.

Step One: Separate your hair into 5 equal sections (well, as equal as possible).

Mentally number the strands from left to right: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.

To make it easy, I'm going to always call the outer left hand strand 1, even if it has been moved from a different position.

Step Two: Keep strand 1 in your left hand. Now figure out a way to hold strands 2, 3, 4 and 5 in between fingers on your right hand. This will take some practice before it starts to feel natural.

Braid strand 1 under strand 2 and over strand 3. Now slide the new strands 1, 2, 3 and 4 in between your fingers on your left hand. Only strand 5 will be in your right hand.