PDA

View Full Version : Help! How much hair fall is 'normal' when you wash???

louisemg82
July 31st, 2010, 09:52 AM
Hi all,
I'm a newbie to the LHC after having waist lenght hair for several years. I didn't grow it properly first time round (I just decided to spend my money on nights out instead of hair cuts for 4 years whilst studying at university) but I LOVED my length dearly. Any how, being dry, crispy and abused I took the plunge and cut my hair to my shoulderblanes 4 months ago. (It feels gorgeous now but I want the length back asap!)
My problem is, the first time round it seemed to grow so easy. I don't know if it's because I wasn't 'trying' to grow it then but now because I'm trying, I'm paranoid about every hair that falls from my head. I lose about 10 hairs whenever I brush it but a good 30 whenever I condition it and up to 60 when I'm rinsing out my henna!! Is this normal? I brush daily and wash every other day.
Please help. If it's normal, great and if not, what can I do to help it?
Thank you all,

Lou :(

Lady Cypressa, Keeper of the Olive Grove in the Order of the Long Haired Knights

Cinnamoon
July 31st, 2010, 09:54 AM
I shed about 4 or 5 hairs when I comb, and about the same when I wash. You might want to try combing with a wide toothed comb instead of brushing - when I brushed, I was losing 20+ hairs each time.

Gumball
July 31st, 2010, 10:05 AM
Normally people can shed up to 150 hairs a day. One thing to consider when you shed a hair is whether the hair is shed or if it's broken. If a hair is shed you'll see the root on it, while you won't usually if it's broken off since it would be broken off above the root.

I've noticed that when I seem to have a larger shed in a day it's likely more broken hair than shed hair. I've since adopted a coconut oiling routine (my hair likes coconut oil) and my shed rate dropped a lot, likely because those were broken hairs and the oil makes my hair less likely to easily break.

bunnii
July 31st, 2010, 10:09 AM