PDA

View Full Version : Tangle prevention

confucious
July 23rd, 2010, 06:53 PM
First of all, hello everyone. First post, and glad to be here :)

I have been researching all week to try and find a solution to tangles that occur after I play shows. I am a metal guitarist, have hair that is roughly two feet long, and headbang on a rather regular basis.

My hair, believe it or not, looks rather healthy as of this moment, but I know that can take a turn for the worse if I don't do something to try and stop the tangles before they start.

So first thing's first... putting my hair up is out of the question. Simply cannot do it. I know of only one product specifically for this purpose: http://www.inthewindinc.com (http://www.inthewindinc.com/) . However, they appear to have ceased production.

I am aware that there may not be a specific product to help me out, and I'm ok with that: if something else can be done. My best idea that I've come up with is to gel/wax the ends of my hair in some way to keep them in strands - this would retain the effect that I'm going for, without having to deal with tangles. At least that's how it works in theory. I'm not sure what product to use for this, nor would I have any clue as to how to apply it to achieve this.

twilight
July 23rd, 2010, 07:20 PM
hmm, just a thought but you might try lightly oiling your hair (with olive or coconut oil, preferably) before the shows, that way it will not be able to 'catch' itself to tangle, and after the show you can just comb and wash it...

if you put too much though, you might grease the crowd with your headbanging! i would test it out first :)

there are lots of threads about oiling on here, so check them out if you are interested in trying that!

confucious
July 23rd, 2010, 07:24 PM
this past show I tried deep treating it with an Olive Oil Conditioner just before the show, and trying a "barely rinse it out" method, but it didn't seem to do much good.