PDA

View Full Version : Hair changed from thick and curly to thin and "wavy"...happen to anyone else?

lknordai
July 20th, 2010, 08:17 PM
Hi,
So I'm new to the page and I'm just curious if anyone else experienced the same thing that I have...

In my teens and early 20's my hair was SUPER THICK and SUPER CURLY! Tight spiral curls and so thick it almost looked like an afro. Then I hit about the age of 27 and it relaxed completely to just now being kind of wavy.

I've also noticed that now I can see my huge part that runs down the back of my head and kind of looks like a big bald spot! I'm assuming it's always been there but now that my hair isn't curly it's hard to keep covered! Even if I part on the opposite side it still falls to the normal part in the back.

I'm about to turn 30 and now having panic attacks that my long part is eventually going to turn into a completly bald head!!

I'd love to hear if other's have had this issue....my hair used to be my "thing" and now I'm constantly have to wear it pulled back. :(

~Laura

christine1989
July 20th, 2010, 08:29 PM
The same type of thing happened to me in middle school. My hair was REALLY frizzy, curly and all around unruly from about 5th-8th grade. I had to flat iron twice a day! Then around the beginning of highschool it calmed down and became wavy with no curls. Since then it has been getting slowly straighter and less frizzy although the thickness has remanined nearly the same. With me I think it was just a strange occurance however many times a change in hair texture and thickness can be symptoms of a hormonal or thyriod problem so it is definatly worth getting it checked.

Aelare
July 21st, 2010, 11:37 AM
My hair and eyes changed when I turned 30ish. Growing up, my hair was stick straight with zero wave or body and my eyes were brown. Around 30ish, my hair suddenly got more body and pretty waves. And my eyes turned green.