PDA

View Full Version : Question for All You "Long-Haired Bikers"

Faith
May 16th, 2008, 07:54 AM
Those of you with long hair who ride motorcycles, what is the most comfortable way to wear your hair when riding? I will be doing the riding portion of my motorcycle safety course this weekend and I need a comfortable style that I won't have to fiddle with all day. My hair is somewhat thick and tailbone length and I am required to wear a helmet, so it has to fit under that. I'm not very good at braiding my own hair; I can do it if I have to but it doesn't look very good! However I wear it tomorrow, I'd like it to look good, but comfort and security are my priorities. Any suggestions?

k_hepburn
May 16th, 2008, 08:23 AM
I find braiding gets a lot easier if you start off by tying your hair into a ponytail at the base of the neck first. I like the look, too, a bit like Angelina Jolie in Beowulf (without the "I'm a monster" lizard tail end).

Greetings

katharine

Irishred
May 16th, 2008, 08:33 AM
Well, a french or double french were my best things under a helmet when DH rode. If I needed to do it quick a regular braid worked but I would take it out if we were going somewhere specific. The worst thing is the on/off of the helmet ALWAYS pulls the easy to fly-away hair our of the most secure up do.

Thinking about it, this was talked about in another thread a while ago. Kinda of anyway. There is a headwrap thing that works great under a helmet. Unless it is sold at a store near you you wouldn't have it for tomorrow. A do-rag(?) or bandana/satiny scarf that fits under your helmet comfortably and a braid like Katherine suggested might work.

Have fun on your safety course.

Miss Murphy
May 16th, 2008, 08:43 AM