PDA

View Full Version : Hello :) New girl asking questions :)

redfox78
July 14th, 2010, 11:33 AM
I am just getting started on really getting serious about taking care of my hair. I've been doing my best and trying different things, but nothing seems to be really helping.

Here is my hair currently:
http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i114/shanawoodman/Family%20Pictures/moi/IMG_6469.jpg

I have a decent amount of wave in my hair. I can get it almost curly if I follow some of the Curly Girl rules, but it doesn't last long.

I have a lot of breakage going on, as well as just not so healthy hair in general, presumably from having a lot of children close together. My overall diet is...reasonable ;)

For washing, I have been doing a small amount of shampoo on my bangs, and tons of conditioner on my hair below my ears. This seems to be working for the most part, but I feel like I could do better.

I have tried doing the baking soda/apple cider vinegar rinses, and that was alright for a while, but it didn't really work out too well in the long run.

I feel like I lose a lot of hair, just during the day, brushing, washing, etc. Whether it's more than normal or not, I don't know. It just 'seems' like a lot. I've been like that for a long time, pretty much since I've been having children.

So if you all could help me find the right threads to read about various ways of caring for my hair, or give me any tips on how to care for it, I would really appreciate it. Before now, I've never had my hair much past my shoulders, and usually chopped it to chin length whenever it got that long. I am not used to this. I always have my hair up since it just tends to bug me from getting frizzy or in my face or falling out everywhere, but I am really, really trying hard this time. I know it will make my hubby happy for him to see it long, which will make me happy too.

Fwiw, my mom had waist length hair for most of my childhood, and I would like to shoot for that length if I can :)