PDA

View Full Version : Do you do anything special with your daughters hair

prbysasha
July 13th, 2010, 04:32 PM
I have been growing my hair for about 5 years now. I went my entire childhood with exceptionally short hair because my grandmother who raised me didnt know how to work with curls.

My hair would grow out like an afro and when allowed to continue to grow it would eventually weight itself down.

So in my teenage years I tried to grow my hair out and went through a phase where all I did was bleach, dye trim, cut or chop. Finally after years of abuse I decided to simply stop doing everything and allow my hair to just be.

Now with the birth of my daughter last year I know I want her to have amazingly beaufitul soft maintained hair. And I wanted to know.

Should I start from now? What do I do?

vanity_acefake
July 13th, 2010, 05:05 PM
All i could do with my daughter's hair when she was a baby was let it grow and tie it out of the way. As she got older i added conditioner to her hair care routine. Now she is 7 and has long hair i shampoo, condition, leave in conditioner/detangler and let it dry naturally. Then i chase her with the tangle teezer til she lets me brush has hair and put it in braids or a ponytail.

GRU
July 13th, 2010, 06:25 PM
Have you read the book Curly Girl by Lorraine Massey?

She has a section in there about kiddie-hair-care that you'll probably find helpful!

SheaLynne
July 13th, 2010, 09:55 PM
Others are giving great advice on what products to use, etc. but I thought I would encourage you to use the chance early on to start a "habit" of good hair care for your daughter.