PDA

View Full Version : Steam for Styles

LaurelSpring
May 14th, 2008, 02:51 PM
I noticed in several posts that some use Caruso Rollers. I have a set but I was wondering if it is as damaging to hair as other heat styling products. My hair does feel soft and nice with the caruso but I always get ridges from the caps.

I also recently saw an infomercial for a Conair Steam Straightener. Are these damaging? Is it any heated styling thing that causes damage?

Just curious. I dont want to get one or keep using the Caruso if it is damaging my hair.

jojo
May 14th, 2008, 06:08 PM
I do not know this product but my two penneth worth is steam is a type of heat and in my opinion will in the long term damage hair but im no expert. But saying that we need to enjoy our hair so every once in a while won't hurt as long as you baby it after!

Riot Crrl
May 14th, 2008, 06:13 PM
I think it matters how hot is the steam. Steam from the shower or dishes probably isn't bad, but 400 Fahrenheit steam is.

Silver & Gold
May 15th, 2008, 04:43 AM
I would say a big fat NO to the steam straightener. I'm pretty certain this would be damaging.

However, the Caruso rollers are quite different IMHO. I own them and the steam isn't all that hot by the time it reaches my hair. It seems that the steam from the Caruso rollers is just enough to add just a touch of moisture that helps the hair stay set. I think if you are very careful roll the hair smoothly that you shouldn't get much if any damage from using these on occasion. I use them when I have to set my hair for various characters I've played on stage.