PDA

View Full Version : Totally completely chicken, afraid of Henna !

UltraBella
June 12th, 2010, 05:56 PM
I have read so much about Henna and looked at all the amazing pictures, but I am so so scared to try it. I feel like a big chicken !!
I have had my hair colored a coppery red with a Demi-color in the past (for five years) and loved it. I went back to a more natural color because I got sick of my ashy roots showing so quickly. I miss the red hair and some days I really want it back. Henna would be an alternative to the Demi-color, but I am afraid of having a disaster.
I love strawberry-blonde and coppery red on me, but not the more deep red/burgundy colors. How do you get the color results you desire ? How do you mix it exactly the same to only do your roots ? Anyone had a Henna oops ???
What about Henna on highlights ? I have some and they are fairly light blonde.
Any input is super appreciated :)

Cholera
June 12th, 2010, 06:05 PM
I'm not an expert in henna, but have you thought about trying a henna gloss first, or mixing it with cassia for less dramatic red?

Oskimosa
June 12th, 2010, 06:07 PM
It can be pretty daunting; if you dislike it, the consequences are starting over on your growth journey or living with damage; pure and simple. But if you liked red on you in the past, and want red, GO FOR IT!

To get a coppery red, all you have to do is mix it with cassia and keep the time down that you leave it on. 1-2 hours will do it! Cassia will encourage the coppery, strawberry-blonde tones. I think the underneath of my hair has more of a burgundy tone, but I can't tell you how awesome that makes the depth of color for me! The coppery tones are next to my face where it matters and the burgundy ones mix in.

For what it's worth, I thought about it for months before I did it. At your length, I'd do no less!

Capybara
June 12th, 2010, 06:40 PM