PDA

View Full Version : How the heck do you oil your hair?

Pandora.
June 5th, 2010, 03:40 AM
Answer silly question from the haircare noob here. :o

Which oils are best to improve the condition of your hair? Making it stronger, thicker and shinier? Arghhh it's driving me nuts.

I read somewhere that massaging butter into your hair is a good remedy for dry/damaged hair, so I thought I'd give it a try. Well, it took me ages to wash it out, it smelt absolutely horrible and my mum starting yelling at me for being so stupid and obsessive about my hair. Yeah, not a great experience with butter then.

Heavenly Locks
June 5th, 2010, 03:42 AM
There are a lot of hair friendly types of oils.

coconut oil
olive oil
jojoba oil
sweet almond oil
avocado oil
emu oil

There are others as well, but those are common.

You can oil your hair wet or dry, heavy or light. A light oiling is one or two drops rubbed between the palms and smoothed into the ends and dry areas. A heavy oiling is one that you use much more. Normally this is before a wash or the day before when you plan to have your hair left in braids because well, it looks oily.

I personally use coconut or sweet almond oil. I oil my hair dry that way I can see how much I've put on and then I comb it through. A heavy oiling is usually olive oil for me.

This is how much coconut oil I use at a time -
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h94/HeavenlyJumper/DSC_0024-2.jpg

I buy my coconut oil from GNC as well as my sweet almond oil.

Cleopatra18
June 5th, 2010, 04:00 AM
Did you use regular butter or ghee? ghee is the one supposed to be used for dry hair and i heard alot of people swear by it.so maybe thats why you had such a terrible experience.
regarding oils,i also use coconut,olive,castor and sweet almond oil,but my current favourate is hemp seed oil it made my hair feel incredible,you should really try it.It's kind of heavy though and you only need to use a tiny bit.

jessie58
June 5th, 2010, 04:00 AM