PDA

View Full Version : Hair dye dilemma

Konstifik
May 27th, 2010, 01:39 PM
Last year I decided to grow out my henna I've had in my hair for the last 5-6 years. It was time to go natural!

Or so I thought. Turns out my natural haircolour is more dull and ugly than I expected. It just doesn't suit me at all. It has no depth, no shine and I can't really tell if it's still blonde or now brown. It's right now ashy dishwater-like in shade. In short, I hate it! I wish I had my beloved golden blonde I had as a kid.

So now I'm very indecisive on what to do. Achieving lighter blonde means I'd have to go bleaching and box-dye, since neither honey lightning or cassia makes any difference whatsoever. And I have no experience about peroxiding my hair, or the money to let a professional do it. To make things even worse, I have a very thin and sensitive hair. >.<

Second option is to return to henna. It gave me great shine and depth, but I did not really like the colour. And as a very colour-oriented person, it is important for me to have a colour I'm happy with.

But are there any third option I've missed?

alabaster
May 27th, 2010, 01:45 PM
Have you completely grown out the henna? If not it might just seem like your natural hair is boring in comparison with the henna right beside it. You should also think about what the lengths will look like once they are a little longer. If your hair is currently dark blond/light brown as it gets longer the ends will lighten from the sun and you may end up with the colour you are after....

Kathie
May 27th, 2010, 01:55 PM
Have you seen this thread? It may be helpful...
http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=24075

I'm also growing out hair dye (bleach highlights) I know its not fun.

I agree with alabaster, your hair will develop natural highlights as it grows more... and the comparison of natural hair next to henna can be a bit of a shock.

emmabovary
May 27th, 2010, 01:56 PM