PDA

View Full Version : Getting hair cut at beauty school

BrightEyes7
May 19th, 2010, 01:30 PM
Hiya all!

I was thinking about getting my hair cut... not much, just a few inches. But I have had my hours cut at work recently and am moving so money is really tight.

I was thinking about going to a local beauty school to get it cut, to save money. Has anyone done this? Were the results totally terrifying?

My SIL is the one who told me about it, I think that is where she goes. But she has a totally different style. Her idea of her hair looking nice is being teased to be a foot off her head! AHHH!

Anyway, so I would like to hear everyone's opinions on getting hair cuts done by students

Willow
May 19th, 2010, 01:43 PM
I'm sorry to say it but I wouldn't go. I just graduated from beauty school and I know what kinds of things happen there..lol. Although, I must admit it may have just been my school as I have no knowledge of any others. How about doing it yourself with Feye's self trim method?

BrightEyes7
May 19th, 2010, 01:46 PM
Well I wanted a bit more than a trim. I would be fine, maybe, doing a dusing myself but I'm looking to get rid of a few inches. I think I may tell them to keep it longer than I am really willing to go so if they mess up I can always get it fixed.

BrightEyes
May 19th, 2010, 01:53 PM
I don't get my hair cut at a beauty school now because I have a stylist that I know and trust. But when I went to beauty school there were a handful of fellow students that would have done a great job. Actually, one of my favorite cuts came from a good friend in beauty school.

While there are some students who are still in the learning process and may not do as well as you'd like, there are also students that cut very well. I saw many people in school who seemed to just have a gift with hair. It was amazing how quickly they learned everything.