PDA

View Full Version : totally stupid question

dropinthebucket
May 14th, 2010, 02:44 PM
I have a totally stupid, don't-know-bleach-from-dye question: it seems the general concensus is that bleach really damages your hair. what does "bleach" mean? when i hear bleach, i think of platinum blonde. but i have no hair experience and no hair knowledge. is there bleach in regular hair dye? what about permanent brown hair dye? does that have bleach in it? does it damage hair, like the light blonde dyes do? sorry for the dumb question - the girl at Sally's looked at me like i had two heads and i skulked off without an answer. :(

FrannyG
May 14th, 2010, 02:54 PM
Regular drugstore permanent dye does have ammonia and peroxide in it, whether it's medium blonde or dark brown. It helps make the hair porous enough to accept the dye permanently.

Ultra Light Blonde shades have double the volume of peroxide.

When you buy what we call bleach, it has an even higher concentration of peroxide and actually does have a bleach odour to it.

So while many people think that it's not going to be at all damaging to use brown dyes, actually, it's just as dangerous as using my medium blonde shade. If you do colour your hair brown, you have to be just as careful with it as most of us blondes do.

The only time people really need bleach is if they're dying their hair from dark to very light. In my case, I am naturally dark blonde and silver, so I just use regular dye. I still do need to be very protective of my hair, and give it a lot of moisture and then oil to help seal in that moisture.

I hope that helps. :)

frizzalot
May 14th, 2010, 02:56 PM
Bleach (hydrogen peroxide) strips the hair of its colour.

Usually if you have dark hair you can bleach it lighter to brown or even lighter to blond.

With normal box dyes you won't see any chnage in colour of your hair is darker than than the box dye colour, so you would have to bleach it(go lighter) and then use the box dye.