PDA

View Full Version : What's this coconut oil miracle you speak of?

Maverick494
May 3rd, 2010, 04:53 PM
I'm a total noob, so forgive me for being ignorant.

I've just started reading around here and I can't help notice the love for coconut oil that's been spread around these boards. I almost wanted to start with "it's a bird, it's a plane, no! It's coconut oil!"

So really, in a nutshell:

1. What do you use it for? And how?
2. What are the benefits?
3. What brand/type do you use?

I hear stories about increasing growth rates to great shine...I mean, I don't know what to think. Next thing you hear it heals cancer too. (Sorry, that was out of line...my snarky self rearing it's ugly head...)

So what's up with coconut oil?

Thanks in advance!

spidermom
May 3rd, 2010, 04:56 PM
Your hair can absorb the essential fatty acid molecules EFAs - most hair, anyway. This replenishes the hair shaft of EFAs that were eroded away from daily wear and tear. Coconut oil makes my hair feel as good at the ends as it does at the scalp.

Some people get absolutely no benefit from oil, however, so if you try this - apricot kernal and avocado and olive oils are good too - try just 1 or 2 drops at first on both dry and damp hair. If you like it, you can always add more.

misspriss
May 3rd, 2010, 05:01 PM
I just started trying this. I just dip a finger in the jar, rub my hands together, and put it on my ends at the end of the shower. I like it, but I don't know if it is much different than how my ends were with just CO'ing.

In2wishin
May 3rd, 2010, 05:02 PM
You may be able to find coconut oil in the grocery store by the popcorn. It looks a lot like shortening but it melts at 76 degrees so it will become liquid very quickly in your hands.

teela1978
May 3rd, 2010, 05:12 PM
It makes fantastic popcorn... that's what I use it for the most :)