PDA

View Full Version : My sisters have lice! What do I do?

RuthieAnne
May 3rd, 2010, 10:00 AM
Apparently they got it at church yesterday or Wednesday, I didn't go either days because of a work conference. But I do live in the same house with them, albeit not the same room. I don't have it yet but should I medicate my hair anyway?

Any tips and tricks? We are getting the medication and washing ALL of their bed clothes. We will also be sterilizing all hair care stuff as well.

The last time we got lice was in '96, the morning of a big car trip. Of course that didn't stop us, we bought the stuff and took it with us to our destination. :-p

Thank you!
God bless,

~Ruthie

Ma'am
May 3rd, 2010, 10:01 AM
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/cgi/content/full/116/6/1612

Maverick494
May 3rd, 2010, 10:54 AM
I'm an expert with this (unfortunately). In my family, lice used to come and go.

Anyway, after countless washes and decontaminating and spending money, I now know what works:

Here's what rid me and my family of nits:

Step1: Buy yourself a steel nitcomb (http://www.biconet.com/personal/GIFs/nitFreeComb.jpg).
Step 2: Get their hair wet. Detangle with your fingers, then comb through it with the nitcomb. All the nits and lice will go out, so you'll have to make sure you either do it under the sink of in a bathtub, so nothing gets contaminated. Keep combing until the comb doesn't catch anything anymore.
Step 3: Decontaminate the comb and make sure nothing is left behind in it.
Step 4: keep repeating this routine for 2 weeks every day until nothing comes up anymore.

That's it! You don't have to do anything else because lice die within 24 hours away from the scalp.

Lykaios
May 3rd, 2010, 11:08 AM
If you don't have it yet, it wouldn't hurt to keep your hair up (braided bun, etc) and wear some kind of head covering until the threat has passed.

:cheese:

pinkbunny
May 3rd, 2010, 11:11 AM