PDA

View Full Version : Need help with updos and braids for my hair!

Maverick494
April 30th, 2010, 10:05 AM
Hi all,

I've been growing my hair ever since I was 18 (4 years) from shoulder length to where I am now:

http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/9237/img0791r.jpg

Anyway, now I've got it at this length, I don't know what to do with it. I don't know any updo's and keeping it loose or in a ponytail has started to bore me. Also, I want to grow it to tailbone length and I've noticed I'm getting more split ends from wearing it loose all the time.

This forum is so full of threads, I don't know where to start. Does anyone have any ideas for updo's, braids that I can use for my hair? Preferably with pictures.

Sorry for putting you at work, but I honestly don't know how to get ideas otherwise.

Thanks in advance!

Bethie
April 30th, 2010, 10:09 AM
I would start with the articles: Hair styles section (http://www.longhaircommunity.com/forums/vbjournal.php?do=category&categoryid=1) Then check out the "where you hair up" challenge thread in the Mane forum. Finally there is the "how are you wearing your hair today" thread in the Polls and Projects forum.

The first one will have pictures and videos, while the second two will give you names which you can check out on YouTube.

HTH

pilateschick7
April 30th, 2010, 10:15 AM
Welcome to LHC.

I am decidedly updo challenged. The Lazy Wrap bun is my absolute favorite right now. It does not involve elastics or pins, and will stay with 1 hairstick.

HTH:)

Maverick494
April 30th, 2010, 10:22 AM
Thanks, the both of you!

@pilateschick7:The Lazy wrap bun...eh, where can I find a tutorial on how to do that one? Sorry, I'm a total newbie...

EtherealOde
April 30th, 2010, 10:28 AM
I found quite a bit of help on you tube, with more how-to hair videos that I will ever be able to even try! That is my main source, because I never learned about caring for or styling long hair (beyond braids, ponytail, or wearing it down) until I came here.