PDA

View Full Version : A Strange Bald Story

ItalianFlower
April 29th, 2010, 01:10 AM
So I'm a Sophomore in college. I was talking to a friend today who is a Freshman (barely turned 18 this month, skipped a grade or some such). He has the baldest head I've ever seen, and today he complimented my curls (yay).

I made a joke (good-natured, I assure you), using his same compliment but about his bald head.

His response was a hesitant, "You aren't ever going to cut your hair, are you?"

I said, "No, not drastically ever again, why?"

"Well, because it might not grow back. That's what happened to me." Turns out that he did a play in his junior year of high school in which he played a bald character. Though it wasn't a requirement, he shaved his head... and it never grew back. I have known this kid all year and had noticed how pristinely he kept his bald head (never had fuzz or anything) but never really thought about it until he said something. I had a long talk with him and believe he's telling me the truth...

But can you imagine?? I mean, all of us here frequently comfort ourselves by saying "It'll grow back." But what if it just...didn't? Do you guys have any speculations on what could be up with my friend's head of no hair? He has been to a doctor and they didn't find anything "wrong" with him. The hair on his arms and legs grows just fine; this issue is confined to just his head, eg: no facial hair, unibrow, etc... it is all quite interesting.

countryhopper
April 29th, 2010, 01:29 AM
Wow! How odd!! I'm not sure whether I'd believe that at face value or not... There's no medincal issue going on there? Maybe there is and he just didn't tell you?

That would be a horrible thing to have happen, though!

Liss
April 29th, 2010, 04:46 AM