PDA

View Full Version : chronic cutter?

juliaxena
April 22nd, 2010, 03:49 PM
I have a friend who has this thing for cutting her hair and growing it out over and over again. When she grows, she's very into having it long. When she's at her goal, she cuts it very short. I can't quite understand it. Well it IS her hair of course! But she can't explain it heself and I'm curious. So does anyone know what could be the reason for it?

allnaturalboy
April 22nd, 2010, 04:06 PM
Wow, when I first saw this, I thought it was going to be a thread on a person who cuts themselves chronically...I have some experience with friends who do that.

I have no idea about your friend though. It seems to me that your friend likes having a goal, and once she reaches that goal, she is not happy. Therefore, she cuts her hair off and begins the process anew. It does sound like a mental thing.

Dani
April 22nd, 2010, 04:23 PM
Everyone is different, but I personally love to cut my hair because it's just so much fun and I can do anything I want. :D

JenniferNoel
April 22nd, 2010, 04:27 PM
I may understand the situation. I'm sure I've been there. I was in that crazy grow-cut-grow cycle for about two years. I just liked the sudden shocking change, and then the exciting journey of growing it out. I found it fun, but a little frustrating. Usually though, by the time I was tired of short hair, it was already touching APL.

spidermom
April 22nd, 2010, 04:32 PM
I guess she enjoys the journey more than the destination.

*thecatsmeow*
April 22nd, 2010, 04:36 PM
Ha ha I am, I just keep giving myself trims just a little here and there to cut off my damaged hair when it gets really bad, but of course I never see it grow:rolleyes: Well at least the damaged bleached parts are growing out.( I trim it every couple weeks, just the end)

trillcat
April 22nd, 2010, 04:36 PM
Growing out your hair can be a fun thing!