PDA

View Full Version : Where to start when choosing a hair routine?

VitaR86
April 21st, 2010, 08:45 PM
Okay, by looking under my photo, you can see that I am a newbie. I really do wish I had found this site a lot sooner.

My question is how do you determine what routine you should use?

What made you choose what you use? Did you just do a trial and error route?

Ursula
April 21st, 2010, 08:50 PM
I wrote an article a while back on exactly this issue. You can find it in the articles section, as "Ursula's Standard Newbie Advice" and there is a link in my sig.

TXbarbie
April 21st, 2010, 09:12 PM
Urusla's advice in the newbie article is very helpful.

For me I went out on a limb and tried a few new things - CO, CWC, cone-free etc. It came down to what was most convenient for me since I'm a student, so my routine hasn't changed too much other than wearing my hair up more and doing a CO wash every other time I wash my hair :)

Good luck on your journey!

Copasetic
April 21st, 2010, 09:46 PM
For me it was just trial and error. I honestly haven't changed my routine all that much since my pre-LHC days. The only real difference is that I discovered coconut oil and KCCC.

VitaR86
April 21st, 2010, 10:35 PM
What's KCCC?

Stephichan
April 21st, 2010, 11:14 PM
I did a lot of reading on here first. I read Ursula's newbie guide (highly recommend it) then I hit the review board. I experimented with CWC, CO, sulfate-free shampoo, no-cone conditioner, henna and oil. I also keep a word document to act as a 'hair journal'. I make notes of shampoos and conditioners I want to try, ones that I know work, and ones that I have determined to not work for me. In the end, it all comes down to reading and systematically experimenting (as detailed in Ursula's guide). Good luck and happy growing! ^_^

Rhiannon7
April 22nd, 2010, 12:38 AM