PDA

View Full Version : Why do women cut their hair off?

Leisa
May 6th, 2008, 11:27 AM
Curlsgirl :) got me thinking in her post about depression and hair cutting. And it made me curious about the reasons why women cut their hair.

Why do women cut their hair off?

SchnauzerMom
May 6th, 2008, 11:35 AM
Well let's see, in my case I've cut it because of depression, low self esteem, convinced that I was too old for long hair, worried about what other people think, I also like short hair and long hair. I'm working through these issues because I really do want long hair.

spidermom
May 6th, 2008, 11:44 AM
I've cut because of sticky baby fingers and puke in my hair, falling in love with a shorter style, hating the way my hair looked and thinking anything else would look better, being too hot, and being frustrated because I had been growing it for an ENTIRE TWO YEARS from a pixie and it wasn't hiney-length yet.

swanns
May 6th, 2008, 11:45 AM
I've had (very!) short hair several times.

~ A bob till I turned 9, just because my mum wanted to keep it that way.
~ Cut my BSL lenght hair at 11 because my mum doesn't like long hair on me and actually paid me to get it cut :rolleyes: After that it stayed fairly short for years.
~ Had hair past BSL again at 15, then my dad passed away and I had an appointment with a hairdresser just days before the funeral and just didn't care, and let her cut off several inches, and it just wasn't really any lenght after that anymore, so the following Autumn and Winter I juts had it cut shorter and shorter until it was just few inches long. Haven't cut it since :)

This is a shorter version, I think I've had hair past my shoulders a couple of times but have ended up cutting it because I've gotten bored with it.

lora410
May 6th, 2008, 11:47 AM