PDA

View Full Version : How do you know if you have hard or soft water?

Talula
April 18th, 2010, 04:46 AM
Hi,

At my mom's in NH, we get blue stains in the sink & tub after maybe a week with no cleaning. At my apartment in PA, I get orange stains where one of my faucets leaks. Both come off with a good cleaning. Are these both signs of hard water? Does "soft" water leave no sink stains? I've read a lot of stuff here, and people bring up hard & soft water all the time but I've never seen anyone ask this question, so I guess it's common knowledge to most?

Thanks much!:)

Purdy Bear
April 18th, 2010, 06:17 AM
You can usually tell by the kettle, has it a lot of furring, then its hard water. You get a lot of white crusty stuff in kettles, washing machines on the edges of tapes etc.

I think you can do a PH test, like you do with fishtanks or ponds, but not sure about that.

Narya
April 18th, 2010, 06:21 AM
I am by no means an expert, but to see if the house I live in at the time has soft or hard water I just compare it to my mother's (and my grandma's, in extreme cases) house, that undoubtly have hard water (and kill my hair everytime I shower there).

What I look for is residue, not stains (but that's because I'm used to think hardness = calcium): if the taps have a white residue, hard water. If when I shower I don't dry the taps and when they dry there are white spots where the drops were, hard water (and the same when washing spoons: let a bit of water on one, let it dry, and see what happens).

About the orange stains it may be because of rusted pipes. The only time I had something similar happening (the water at first came orange tinted, but after a few seconds ran clear, and there were orange spots left) it was because of that. I don't know for sure if it qualifies as hard water, but I'm quite sure it's not specially good for hair.

Anyway, as I've said, no expert here, but I hope I've been of some help!

chopandchange
April 18th, 2010, 08:15 AM