PDA

View Full Version : New member

MrsKamorri
April 5th, 2010, 09:59 AM
Hi! I'm a 32 year-old mother of 4 with #5 due in 11 weeks. My hair and I go way back :) Throughout my childhood I envied people with long beautiful hair but I was always really easy to convince to get a new cut. Plus, I have a good "short hair face," according to my mom anyway. I have had girl mullets and super short pixie cuts. I have had halfway decent perms and really, really awful perms (sometimes in conjunction with the girl mullets!)
Since I graduated high school I have mostly had long hair. I colored it in my teens but that has long since grown out and been cut off and I am back to my natural hair-colored hair. Thankfully it was red when I met my husband and by the time he figured out it was from a bottle, he was too smitten with the rest of me to care :D
I cut off about 8 inches when I was pregnant with my oldest, donated 15 and 13 inches to Locks of Love after the births of #2 and 3 respectively. Somehow I managed to NOT cut off a major portion of it while pregnant with #4 but the urge to cut it all off in the third trimester is STRONG. I am struggling mightily at the moment not to whack it all off again.
It tends to be dry so I tend to blame that on myself and think, "If I just cut it off one more time, I'll take better care of it and it won't get like this again..." but that never seems to happen. So here I am, hoping to be inspired by all the beautiful long hair and success stories, and to glean information on how to heal and protect my own so that I will love it. And hopefully y'all will be able to talk me down off the ledge when I think it might be best just to bob it again and worry about it later. I would like nothing better than to have it down below my bottom (a sort of symbol of feminine beauty ingrained in my mind since I was a tiny tyke reading Little House on the Prairie). After measuring this morning, I have about 18 inches to go (at least when it's dry :))