PDA

View Full Version : cutting someone's hair without experience

windinherhair
March 28th, 2010, 01:53 PM
My husband's hair is short. A little longer on the top then in the back, and it grows very fast. He could get it cut monthly but usually waits a couple months or longer. The price of hair cuts is enough in the US, and even double the price or more when visiting family in Europe.

I actually thought maybe I could try to cut it. :confused: I have no experience cutting hair besides when I started to trim my own hair last year. My hair is really easy to trim because it is one trim across and I am done! I know if I cut my husband's hair, I could use an electric trimmer in the back, but on the top of his head I would need to use scissors. I don't know how risky this could be but I think how simple it could be too.

Anyone teach themselves to cut someone else's hair, or have any stories to share? Any tutorial recommendations would be nice too. I haven't been with him to get a hair cut in a while since he usually goes by himself. Maybe I should go with him once and watch someone cut it too.

Aero
March 28th, 2010, 02:09 PM
I cut my brothers hair all the time. I go around the perimeter with scissors first, and trim the over all length. After, I use the shears to clean up the back and sides then trim his bangs with scissors. I usually style it in a 'Hitler youth' long on top and shaved on the back and sides.

windinherhair
March 28th, 2010, 02:14 PM
I am familiar with the basic technique of cutting a little, and then measuring the next hair with it before cutting some more. I would be very careful... You can see the hair cut my husband has in my profile picture. I could cut off a little, and always cut off more after that if he wants. That way it won't be too big a change at first. :)

Arctic_Mama
March 28th, 2010, 02:57 PM
I cut my family's hair and had no previous experience, I just read up on technique first, and this book was very helpful to me: