PDA

View Full Version : Damage from braiding?

BelleBot
March 22nd, 2010, 05:01 AM
I wear my hair in a braid to bed to stop it tangling and hopefully protect it. I also wrap a scarf round my head when I'm sleeping alone, though my partner isn't too keen if he's staying over.

Though everytime I wake up I have loads of ends poking out of my braid which look horrible and have all dramatically split over night or so it seems! Is the braid causing this damage? As the same happens if I wear my hair in a braid during the day.

However if I wear my hair loose to bed or during the day I don't seem to get the same number of magically appearing splits.
Obviously an updo is my best bet to protect it, but braids are so much easier at night.

Any ideas? Is this all in my head, or could the braiding be causing additional friction damage?

Felix_D
March 22nd, 2010, 05:08 AM
I have no experience with braids, but it always seemed to me that the hairs from the 3 different ropes would rub against each other when the braid moved around? It seems like either a) oil it up pre-braid so the strands slide against each other, b) put it up nice and tight so there's no rubbing or c) let it down, so they can freely move around.

Just imagining the scales on hair rubbing back and forth against each other gives me the heebie-jeebies.

BelleBot
March 22nd, 2010, 05:15 AM
Yeh, that's what I was thinking. It's fine if my hair is heavily oiled, but I don't want to do that every night. Everytime I braid I just feel miserable as I can see more and more splits forming. It's such a pretty and practical hairstyle, but I fear it's killing my hair.

enfys
March 22nd, 2010, 05:39 AM
Computer ate my reply. Argh.

What I was trying to say was that I think it's more like the effect of S&Ding where you twist the hairs so shorter ones stick out and splits are visible.

I don't think braiding causes the splits but I think it highlights them.

countryhopper
March 22nd, 2010, 05:40 AM