PDA

View Full Version : Long Hair with Limited Resources

eternallyverdan
May 3rd, 2008, 01:59 PM
Hi everyone! I'm a newcomer to the boards, but not to long hair-- I've been growing it for 23 years with only 2 trims, and it's currently just above classic length and still growing! Anyway, this fall I'm going to be spending 6-10 months in rural Senegal, and I'm hoping for some suggestions on how to keep my hair healthy and growing. The program I'm going with says that I'll probably not have a shower (I'll just have a bucket once or twice a week) and I'll be traveling a lot, which means I can't bring any heavy bottles or special equipment. If I do use anything, I'm thinking it might be corn starch or baking powder. I thought about NW/SO, but it looks like it would be too much work, with all the scritching and preening and massaging. So basically, I'm looking for the impossible-- a low-maintenance, low-water, minimal product, fabulous washing regime!

Leisa
May 3rd, 2008, 02:25 PM
Hi, if it was me, I would just take a bar of soap that can be used to clean hair as well. I have some black soap from Africa where it is used for body as well as hair.:)

When in Rome do as the Romans do. You can probably buy soap there that the locals use for their hair too.

Actually black soap comes from W Africa. Mine comes from Ghana. Maybe they sell it in Senegal or you can order it online, or just buy soap when you arrive. Or, use any soap that you like that doubles for the hair. Also use whatever oil they have there for your hair to condition. I think many Africans use oil on their hair for conditioning as that is traditional before there was shampoo and conditioner.:)

What will you be doing there?

justgreen
May 3rd, 2008, 02:47 PM
Washing with water only can sometimes be better than using shampoo or soap. I'd opt for water only, then damp bunning.

Speedbump
May 3rd, 2008, 02:49 PM