PDA

View Full Version : Damp bunning / braiding questions

cardamom
March 15th, 2010, 04:04 AM
I am sorry,if this has been addressed.I couldn't find exactly what I was looking for.:rolleyes:

My hair is generally dry and I get split ends which I S & D very often.I've learnt that damp/wet bunning locks moisture in the shafts and helps to retain length.I would like to start damp bunning but I've some doubts to be clarified.

1.Does it make hair moldy?
2.Does it create weird whorls and curls?
3.How long should I keep it in the bun?
4.Do I bun after a wash or have some leave - in's like oil,conditioner or something?
5.Are scrunchies safe for damp bunning?

Don't count my posts,I am a newbie!:)

Melisande
March 15th, 2010, 04:25 AM
Damp bunning has been very good for my hair but I must warn you ;-) that there is no way to generalize hair experiences.

Hair doesn't get moldy from a few hours in a damp bun. At least not mine. I bun after I wash and let it dry slowly, slowly in the bun. My hair (very straight) dries with lovely bun waves that don't hold very long - my hair doesn't hold waves at all in general. But if you want to avoid waves completely, make an updo without twisting the hair, like the LWB.

I also mist my hair with distilled water and some drops of oil between washes when the air is dry and robs my hair of moisture. My hair feels stronger and fuller when I dampbun.

When my hair is flat, I add some drops of wheat protein to my mister. That's good for added volume. Sometimes I use different mixtures for roots and lengths - more wheat protein to the roots for added volume and "spring", and more oil to the dry ends.

You will have to experiment what your hair likes. Updos and protecting the ends is good in any case.

Scrunchies are a safe way to bun. I have just now an old scrunchie in my hair ;-) but I don't leave the house with it. There are many options that are more stylish but hold the damp hair well.