PDA

View Full Version : WO- question

coscass
March 11th, 2010, 05:13 PM
I just ran out of conditioner. Now that I actually have incentive, I'm going to try WO for a while. My hair adapted to CO and loved it instantly- could my hair adapt to WO quickly, too? Say a week or two? Three max?

I'm just curious. I have dry, coarse, curly hair. Is WO better for certain types, or can anyone try it? The top of my head feels like a greasepit. It's something I haven't felt since starting CO, so it's definitely a strange sensation. Should I try brushing gently with a BBB to distribute some of this sebum down the shaft, or should I avoid it, since I am a curl head?

countryhopper
March 12th, 2010, 01:09 AM
I've done (still doing) no poo, with occasionaly WO, so I'm not an expert. But curly hair is usually drier too, right? In which case WO could be very good for your hair. Transition time depends on your own hair/scalp and how often you currently use shampoo/conditioner (every-day usage might mean your hair makes more oil at the beginning will the sebum production gets used to the new change and stops overproducing)

Check out the official water only thread; I'm sure you'll find a lot more helpful advice than I can give!

Hiriel
March 12th, 2010, 01:17 PM
I agree that the length of the transition period will definitely depend on how often you wash your hair now. I washed once or twice per week when I went WO, and my hair didn't reach the "OMG greaseball!" state until I'd gone 4 weeks with only water. Then I washed it with shampoo to get rid of the built up grease in my hair, and the next time I was able to go much longer, I think it was 8 weeks, without washing. Then I went 100% for some time, but now I've settled on washing about once per month.