PDA

View Full Version : Combination hair?

HintOfMint
March 8th, 2010, 12:34 AM
Hi! Newbie here.

When hairtyping, we're asked to define our hair as fine, medium, or coarse. However, I have ALL of those textures on my head.

Some hairs are like spidersilk, some regular, some like steel cables, and don't even get me started on those strange curly wires on the top of my head. To top it all off, a few random hairs are actually ROUGH. Not curly, wavy or frizzy, but rough, like sandpaper.

How would I type my hair, and more importantly, how does this change how I would treat my hair? Overall, my ponytail circumference is exactly 4 inches (not including bangs) and it is pretty voluminous.

On a side note: What ARE those rough random hairs??? Am I damaging my hair or scalp in some way, or are they normal?

Chamy
March 8th, 2010, 12:56 AM
I have the exact same problem, and i just put my setting on medium(thinking it would somewhat even out things :P ).
Ill be watching this thread for answers since i dont really have any.

Oh and welcome to the forums HintOfMint :)

LucyHope
March 8th, 2010, 01:10 AM
Typing is frustrating... I had issues with the curliness typing - somewhere in the 2s, but so erratic with the waves on top, and switching between waves and ringlets underneath depending on hair product/weather/drying/phase of the moon/what colour my t-shirt is... :p Sounds like your best guess might be medium?

With regard to those "renegade fuzzies", do you know of your genetic background? My family is all Scots/Irish/English (traceable back to the 17th century in most areas), and my sister has patches of wiry zig-zag frizz that the (taken aback) hairdresser classed as technically "negroid". :-D (My sister's hair is light- to dark-blonde, with shades of ginger, for the record.) Maybe you have a similar situation, with a random genetic factor popping up where it has no obvious reason to be?

GoddesJourney
March 8th, 2010, 01:11 AM