PDA

View Full Version : newbie ... question about hairdrying

tmmycat
April 30th, 2008, 07:42 PM
Hi everyone

I have a question about blowdrying your hair ... just how damaging is what I'm doing? I currently blot my wet hair with a t-shirt or paper towel, then I blowdry while combing my hair. I have the blowdryer on medium heat and hold it about 6-10 inches away from my hair. I always point the air flow down my hair (not up towards the roots.) I blowdry until it is somewhat damp (maybe 5-10 minutes) and then I let it air dry the rest of the way. I don't use heat protector because styling products irritate my skin. so how damaging is what I'm doing?

I read that blowdrying is bad for your hair but I am having trouble understanding that because my hair looks and feels softer and healthier when I do this. if I let it air dry then it dries frizzy. if blowdrying is bad then why does my hair seem softer and shinier when I do it?

just curious....

I am just starting out with shoulder-length hair ... goal is BSL. my hair is thick and wavy and healthy right now.

Nat242
April 30th, 2008, 07:54 PM
Heat styling will probably damage your hair - the degree of damage depends on how frequently you do it, how long you hope to grow, and how resilient your hair is. For BSL hair, heat styling every now and again is probably okay, but doing it daily will reduce your chances of making it to BSL with healthy hair, unless your hair is especially tough.

Your hair seems shiny when you blow dry probably because the hair dries flatter and smoother, which makes a more reflective surface.

I would suggest that you turn your blow-dryer to the cool setting, if you must use it, and investigate other ways of smoothing frizz - there are lots of great suggestions on LHC. Wearing your hair up more will also reduce the "need" to blow dry.

Good luck!