PDA

View Full Version : New member! Needs Hair Advice! :)

SunKissedBlonde
February 19th, 2010, 02:29 PM
Hi everyone! I just found this forum yesterday when I was searching for some answers to my hair problems.

My hair goes to the middle of my back and I have been bleaching it platinum blonde for about three years (my hair is naturally a very ashy dark blonde). My hair used to be very very thick, it's still pretty thick now but not as much.

Just in the past year I've been having problems with breakage. Near the crown of my head I had a significant amount of breakage. The hairs are close to chin length now and I hope to grow the clumps of short hairs all the way out. But my hair has been feeling very dry and weak lately. I've been using Ion 3 Step Emergency Hair Repair kit once or twice a week, could this be giving me more damage because I'm using it too often? I was told it would help my hair, which is pretty gummy when wet.

Does anyone have any advice for me?? I've been told I should use a protein treatment so I used an Ion protein treatment (from Sally Beauty) but I think it makes my hair worse. Do I need more moisture or protein? Or is there something else that will help?

If anyone knows of any good products that have worked for them, I'd love to hear it!

Thank you!! and sorry for the long post!

justgreen
February 19th, 2010, 02:42 PM
I think you need to do a good clarifying (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=687&highlight=clarify)shampoo wash, then try an all moisture conditioning treatment like SMT (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=128). You need to be giving your hair moisture (as in water, honey, natural stuff) every time you wash and especially after every bleaching.