PDA

View Full Version : Blow drying without heat--damaging?

Prism
February 10th, 2010, 05:35 PM
I posted recently that I don't like the way my hair looks air dried. Today I tried using the blow dryer on the cold setting, and I was surprised that it really helped smooth it out and give it body without any heat. I think this could be doable, and I'm satisfied with the results. But do you think there's any damage in using a blow dryer on cold?

Anybody else been using on cold for a long time and notice any damage from it?

thanks!

spidermom
February 10th, 2010, 06:05 PM
I've been doing this for a couple of years (not every time). I still get split ends, though, so maybe it causes damage; I'm not sure. I think my split ends come mainly from detangling. Sometimes I hear a sound that makes me think an end just came apart.

I'm going to keep blow-drying on warm to the scalp and cool to the length any time I think it's too cold to go outside with wet hair or when I want more smooth than it's inclined to be when air dried. I think it could possibly be of benefit because when I blow-dry it nice and smooth, I don't get as much tangling.

CrisDee
February 10th, 2010, 06:23 PM
I've been blow drying on the cold setting as well, I just have to do something to style this awful growing out pixie. At the length it is right now, it's more important that I look decent enough that I don't get frustrated and cut it all off again :(

cottage46
February 10th, 2010, 06:49 PM
I do the same thing: heat on my bangs and scalp, and cool on the length. I used to heat dry all of it, rolling the length ends under with a cheap round brush AND using a brush curling iron to roll the ends under some more. *shudder* I had about 3" trimmed off about a month ago, so that damage should be behind me.

I thought I'd never get used to using the low setting on the length, but wearing more updos has changed how dry it needs to get.

Prism
February 10th, 2010, 07:19 PM