PDA

View Full Version : Cone-free and dyed hair

naereid
February 9th, 2010, 04:03 AM
For the past six months I've been CWC-ing with average results. Now I've been thinking about trying a cone-free and SLS-free routine. What worries me (except how expensive Lush is!) is the effect that going cone-free would have on my chemically dyed hair. Is it even recommended? Does coloured hair need cones to stay nice? Would the colour fade faster?

I'm rather new to this kind of hair care, so thanks for any advice. :) (I know dying is bad, but it's my only hair-care flaw! Well, that and wearing it loose.)

Svenja
February 9th, 2010, 04:12 AM
I have chemically coloured hair and I did not see any negative effects on my hair AT ALL. The colour certainly DOES NOT need cones to stay nice. On the contrary, I feel like my hair colour is now so much more radiant than ever before. Plus, it fades less quickly now. I use the L'Oreal Excell 10 colours and I am so happy with them - before and after my switch to cone-free and SLS-free.
I know hair is different and I can only talk for myself here, but no worries.

naereid
February 9th, 2010, 04:31 AM
I have chemically coloured hair and I did not see any negative effects on my hair AT ALL. The colour certainly DOES NOT need cones to stay nice. On the contrary, I feel like my hair colour is now so much more radiant than ever before. Plus, it fades less quickly now. I use the L'Oreal Excell 10 colours and I am so happy with them - before and after my switch to cone-free and SLS-free.
I know hair is different and I can only talk for myself here, but no worries.
Wow, sounds good! Our hair types seem similar, so maybe it'll work for me too. I had always wondered how much the shampoos for coloured hair actually helped, but I didn't want to take risks.