PDA

View Full Version : Drying With a Towel

yellowchariot
February 8th, 2010, 02:08 PM
This question may have been asked before, though I don't know.
I'll start off by saying this, I'm a guy, thus I've never read the back of shampoo/conditioner bottles or any other hair product instructions for that matter. Who needs to, right? Just put it on wash, rinse then your done.

After I joined LHC, I began to read up on some great info. So naturally, I began reading the product labels :o lol. I've noticed on most products the instructions say to "gently pat your hair down with a towel" to dry it. :hmm:

I have never done this before. I've always taken the towel and started rubbing it across my head from side to side and back and forth, just as I would dry off my entire body :shrug:.

Is there a difference in "patting" vs. "rubbing" with a towel?

Could it cause hair damage of any kind? Also I've never left my hair in a towel to dry before. Is there any significance in that as well?

Thank You All for your help! I've learn quite a lot during these past 7 months that I've been here :thumbsup:

2peasinapod
February 8th, 2010, 02:23 PM
I think rubbing would cause more damage than patting (from the friction). I always put a towel over my shoulders and dry my hair on top of that. I get the extra water off by patting. For me, patting is just gently squeezing one area, but keeping my hand in one place (no rubbing).

My hair isn't quite long enough to dry inside a towel, but the towel helps soak up the excess water that way.

jera
February 8th, 2010, 02:30 PM
I think rubbing wet hair could cause more damage too because hair is particularly vulnerable when it's wet. :(

My hair is tailbone length and takes a long time to dry so I gently blot it with a towel before letting it air dry. Blotting works for me and no damage. :D

FrannyG
February 8th, 2010, 02:36 PM