PDA

View Full Version : sides won't grow

TiaSimone
February 6th, 2010, 04:16 PM
Hi everybody...newbie here with a question. I have been trying to grow my hair for over a year. It has been going well for most of my hair. But for some reason, the hair on the sides of my head (near my ears) is simply not growing. My hairdresser said that area may have been damaged, but she doesn't see any physcial damage to the hair shaft. So....my hair in the back is growing....and my bangs are growing...but this one area doesn't want to budge. And I really don't care for the mullet look so I was wondering if anyone had any tips?

xoxophelia
February 6th, 2010, 04:21 PM
Is it on the underside of your hair?

I have the exact same thing and was starting to feel as though I was alone. For me, the texture there is also slightly different (more coarse). I have had my hair long before and even then, these hairs don't grow much past my shoulders. I have shorter ones around my face as well.

When your bangs are longer, it won't be noticable hardly at all especially if your hair is curly.

Just to make sure though, reduce heat styling to just a little or none if you currently do so. Don't brush while it is wet and wear it in looser styles when you put it up. :)

Yozhik
February 6th, 2010, 04:40 PM
Maybe if you gathered it in half-ups the length difference would be less noticeable? Does it just look like your hair is layered? I wouldn't worry too much about it, and just try to reduce any damage you may be inflicting on it (heat, etc.). Maybe give your scalp massages in those areas to increase circulation (ergo growth)?
I'm sure that even while you might feel self-conscious about it, it's probably not very obvious to anyone else :flower:

Good luck :)

Peggy E.
February 6th, 2010, 05:08 PM