PDA

View Full Version : How do you deal with the new growth 'halo'?

squidgetroo
February 2nd, 2010, 03:13 PM
OK, I am getting seriously annoyed with my hair and need ideas, pretty please!

My hair has finally reached the point where I can do french and dutch braids and get it all in there. The new problem I'm having is all my new growth. When my hair is pulled back in a braid, I have about 2-3" worth of new growth sticking out all over my head and it looks ridiculous. Don't get me wrong, I'm HAPPY I have so much hair growing back in! But I would like to be able to do more than put my hair in a pony (no fuzz shows then) or twist it up in a claw clip. I've tried coconut oil, aloe vera gel, regular hair gel...nothing works to smooth them down.

I don't know if its just my hair type? When I joined LHC I thought I was a 1b/1c. After going no-cone and starting CO washing, vinegar rinses, henna and oiling my hair, it has now progressed to a solid 2b, which I'm still learning to deal with. And the new growth is all spirals and just curling all over the place...it kinda looks like I stuck my finger in a light socket. :silly: So am I just stuck with ponytails until everything grows another few inches?

christine1989
February 2nd, 2010, 03:26 PM
I have the same exact problem! After taking biotin all of this new hair is starting to grow in and it is sticking out eveywhere. Coconut oil has been working well for me if I put just a small amount in while my hair is still wet. Unfortunatly the best technique for smoothing them down is running a flat iron through your hair quickly (probobly not worth it considering the damage it creates). Perhaps if you tried a drop or two of a thicker oil like castor or olive???

Atlantic
February 2nd, 2010, 03:31 PM
Flax seed gel, or aloe vera gel. I can't live without it.

lexiflowers
February 2nd, 2010, 03:41 PM