PDA

View Full Version : S&D tips

littlemoon
January 24th, 2010, 07:02 PM
so though i am not at all new to little trims of individual hairs and picking at stray splits when im bored, i am new to the healthy ways of doing S&D. i did read rach's article about self dust trims (link) (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/vbjournal.php?do=article&articleid=146) but my biggest problem is the very ends of my strands, and i dont think this will cover them all.

whats the most efficient way to S&D? i have hair scissors and a good lifetime movie ready, i just need the best technique so that i dont end up cutting off hairs i didnt need to.

throw me some tips! :D

Pierre
January 24th, 2010, 11:43 PM
Rach is wavy, you're curly, and her instructions would work better on straight than curly hair. What I do is hold a bunch of hair in one hand loosely, fluff it out, and look for splits. This works best outside on a sunny day, but I have found them looking through my hair at the monitor. When I find one, I pull it away from the cloud of hair and snip it. The only problem with this method is that I need three hands ;)

The other way I do S&D is in the shower. I comb while water is running down my hair, and when I find a tangle that is near the ends of all the hairs involved, I snip it off.

Avalin
January 25th, 2010, 12:00 AM
Whenever I see one randomly I try to hold on to it and run for my hair scissors (darn expensive things.... I love them though!). I cut a little further up from the split in case it is splitting where I can't see (If you cut right at the split you might not keep it from splitting more).