PDA

View Full Version : Is containing hair always necessary?

CrisDee
January 19th, 2010, 08:59 AM
I'm trying to learn all I can about caring for long hair as I'm growing mine out. I figure that since I cut it all off, I'm starting fresh - and I want all my length (when I finally get it!) to be the healthiest hair I can possibly grow. So I'm studying this board and all the threads that appear to apply to my hair, which brings me to my question since I don't know if this really applies to me.

From what I've read, you want to contain your hair (updos, braids, etc.) in order to keep it from tangling - is that correct? If that's the case, I'm not sure whether I'd really have to bother with that, as I'm one of the fortunate few whose hair rarely tangles! I'm sure there are other things long hair should be protected from, such as purse straps, chair rivets, and the like - but if the main goal is to prevent tangling, would it be necessary to always contain my hair if it doesn't tangle much in the first place? Thanks for the input! :)

Deimos
January 19th, 2010, 09:20 AM
It is not only against tangling but also to protect hair. If you have the hair loose you get breakage because it rubs against your back/chair/ and such.
From my own experience: my hair also hardly tangles, but it really started to grow since I started wearing it up just because I reduced the breakage of the ends :)
Also when your hair is very long it can be dangerous to keep it loose I guess, but then you would be in classic+ territory.

Hope that helps!

Stacy_E
January 19th, 2010, 09:20 AM
I think updos not only protect hair by preventing tangles, but also by reducing mechanical wear and tear (friction by rubbing against your clothes and such). Updos can reduce exposure to sun and the elements (wind, dryness), especially buns where the older (and more vulnerable) ends are more protected tucked away at the base of your bun. Damp-bunning is particularly good when fighting dryness.