PDA

View Full Version : Ok, 1st hair pic ... need help, tips, encouragements...

Sweetness
January 9th, 2010, 09:04 AM
hmmm...

I feel a little self conscious, as so many have beautiful hair here... :oops:

But January 2010, hair resolutions, and so many knowledgeable people around here maybe you can help me understand my hair and give me useful advice... as I am very new to hair care.

First, this is the hair that's been driving me crazy all my life... but getting to respect it more and more as time goes by

This is a couple years ago, natural aired dry with nothing in it after salted sea water, sun and wind... just to give an idea of my natural shape and texture.

My hair today... note it's totally uncombed and I just woke up ! lool

Ok, it's not pretty at all... but this is what I start off with after SO MUCH neglect. It can only get better with time and care, right ?? :confused:

Hair history in brief :

Hated it since I was 2 years old, I wanted strait hair ! Through my life, my hair has been straighten chemically (first time at 9 years old... I was so angry with it my mom finally agreed ... :rolleyes:), bleached, colored in about every color, angrily brushed dry and wet, blow dried, flat ironed, rubber band pulled, etc.

In two words, I've been bad in about every way. I think that MOST of worst the damage is cut off, but I still have a lot of "flat iron & cie" damage on the top layers ... I actually hate those "unwanted layers" of damaged hair that is broken and shorter than the underlying hair... hope some day to have it evened out somehow to make trimming easier :(:( Never been daily shampooed (I guess that's pretty good, maybe the only good thing I ever did for it)

Present hair care :
Respecting it more... Trying to go more natural, got rid of shampoo a little while ago for now and trying to treat it gently. In fact, it was much longer last summer, a few inches of damage has been cut off already. I'll try to get regular trims too...