PDA

View Full Version : Need your opinion

DBBramble
January 3rd, 2010, 01:23 PM
Is it possible to have fine thick hair when your hair is oily and fine thin hair when it's clean?

I'm asking this because that's what my hair seems to be doing. Any thoughts or theories are welcome.

florenonite
January 3rd, 2010, 01:37 PM
My hair's fine and when it's clean it's very thick but as it gets dirtier it gets thinner. I wouldn't have thought it would be the other way round, though :shrug:

Fine hair does compress a lot, though, so I think that makes its thickness more variable.

Xandergrammy
January 3rd, 2010, 01:37 PM
I'm no expert, but it seems to me that if your hair gets super oily, then it could get thicker when the oil has had a chance to build up and coat the strands. Kind of makes each hair a little fatter, if you know what I mean. Your hair looks very pretty in your avatar.

DBBramble
January 3rd, 2010, 01:48 PM
Thank you for the compliment! ^___^ And thank you both for your answers. My mom swears I have thick hair even when it's clean, but it doesn't feel thick to me. On the bright side, I know I don't have to worry about losing my hair.

bumblebums
January 3rd, 2010, 03:37 PM
Have you measured your ponytail circumference (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/vbjournal.php?do=article&articleid=5)? Maybe you have more hair than you realize.

Also, are you putting anything in your hair, such as leave-in conditioner? Back when I used product, I swear my hair would get thicker when it was dirty, primarily because I would wear leave-in conditioner and lint, etc. would stick to it. It is also possible that a humectant leave-in conditioner absorbs water from the air and makes your hair feel thicker and heavier the longer you go between washes.

DBBramble
January 3rd, 2010, 08:19 PM