PDA

View Full Version : Second Incarnation of the Official Hair Idiots Club

Pages : [1] 2

n3m3sis42
April 27th, 2008, 08:38 AM
Hi, I am aware that I'm still a newb, and I hope I am not stepping on any toes here...

But yesterday, I was browsing through the forum archives and found Shiin's Hair Idiots Club Thread. I looked on the "new" forum and couldn't find a new version of it yet, so I thought maybe I should revive it!

I, like many members of the old Hair Idiots Club, grew up a complete tomboy. The last time my hair was around the length it is now, I used two styles and that was it. One was cramming it all into a jaw clip. The other was a ponytail with multiple elastics down the length. I am capable of doing simple 3-strand braids, but I can't wear them outside of the house because it starts looking scary at my nape pretty much immediately. I can also make a standard ponytail, but unless I make it low and let my hair part where it wants to, it just randomly parts on its own and looks like I am greasy or balding... yuck.

Since joining the LHC, I have learned to do a cinnabun, a sock bun, and a Chinese bun. I had to watch videos multiple times over to learn those second two styles. Since the first Chinese bun that I finally managed to get right, I have never been able to make another one that looked quite right. Most of my subsequent attempts have ended up looking like, in the words of members of the old thread, a turd.

For those interested, here is the archived thread:
http://archive.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=62778

Please join! Together we can work toward a brighter tomorrow for our poor hair-challenged selves!

eadwine
April 27th, 2008, 08:44 AM
I never learned either until I joined LHC. All I could do was a basic braid, and one flipped up. Oh and a pony tail, I could master that too. That was it. A bun? What is a bun?